The Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage makes a crucial contribution to children’s early development and learning. We provide children with a rich variety of teaching and learning experiences that are appropriate to their needs. The Foundation Stage is about developing key learning skills such as listening, speaking, concentrating, persistence and learning to work and co-operate with others.

In the Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception), children learn foundation skills in six areas, which include:

  • Personal, social and emotional
  • Mathematics
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Creative skills
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development

Within these areas, stepping-stones measure the children’s development so that it is easy for the teachers to see how the children’s knowledge and skills are growing.